We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Orchestra of the Swan: Romantic Strings

Friday March 16, 2018 at 19:30
Number 8 Community Arts Centre, Pershore
Phone for tickets: 01386 555488
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. 2nd Movement: Andante cantabile, from String Quartet No 1 in D Op 11 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky, orchestrated by Jose Serebrier
  2. Konzertstück No 1 in F minor, for clarinet, basset horn and piano Op 113 - Felix Mendelssohn
  3. Concert Piece in D minor, for 2 clarinets and orchestra Op 114 - Felix Mendelssohn
  4. String Symphony No 7 in D minor - Felix Mendelssohn
  5. Serenade for String Orchestra Op 48 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

An evening with two extremely effective works by Mendelssohn, one which celebrates the unique sound and performance technique of the clarinet family and the other which marks Mendelssohn's transition into the world of mature Symphonic composition. The concert starts with the melancholic Andante cantabile of the String Quartet No 1 in D major, a famous movement in its own right; one of the late romantic era's definitive compositions is the perfect ending.

Pre-concert talk at 6.45

Number 8 Community Arts Centre
8 High Street
WR10 1BG
This advertisement was submitted by Orchestra of the Swan.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.