We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Music with a Spanish theme featuring So-Ock Kim (violin)

Saturday June 16, 2018 at 19:45
Princes Hall, Aldershot
£13.50, £6.75 for children/students in full-time education
Phone for tickets: 01252 329155 (Box Office)
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday 10am to 5.30pm and Saturday 10am to 3pm
Other Sources: FSO Ticket Secretary - 07582 345898
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concert Suite No 2, from Carmen - Georges Bizet
  2. Symphonie espagnole Op 21 - Edouard Lalo
  3. 3 Dances, from Three-cornered hat - Manuel de Falla
  4. Symphonic Dances, from West Side Story - Leonard Bernstein

The final concert of the season has a pronounced Latin theme and features one of Lalo's best known works, the Symphonie espagnole, which today is more usually considered as a violin concerto. To perform this exciting piece, we are delighted to welcome back So-Ock Kim, who enthralled us with her performance of the Elgar Violin Concerto in 2016. The Spanish theme is sustained with Bizet's second Carmen suite, which opens the concert, and Dances from De Falla's ballet, The Three Cornered Hat, a story about an infatuated magistrate's attempts to seduce the faithful wife of a miller. The season will close with the vibrant orchestral suite prepared by Bernstein in 1961 from his highly successful musical, West Side Story, which depicts 'Romeo and Juliet'-inspired love blossoming in the gang culture of 1950s New York. With our old friend Bill Carslake conducting this is guaranteed to get your feet tapping in the aisles!

Princes Hall
Princes Way
GU11 1NX
This advertisement was submitted by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.