We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

One Giant Leap | Hertfordshire Chorus

Sunday April 28, 2019 at 15:00
Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre, London
£26, £22, £16, £12; £5 for children under 18
Phone for tickets: 020 3879 9555
Phone lines open: 10am to 8pm daily
Other Sources: Queen Elizabeth Hall ticket office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. One Giant Leap - James McCarthy
  2. Toward the unknown region - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  3. Serenade to Music - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  4. Adagio for Strings Op 11 - Samuel Barber

A concert of lunar-themed works, featuring the world premiere of British composer James McCarthy’s One Giant Leap. Commissioned by the Chorus to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing, McCarthy’s work for large chorus, children’s choir and symphony orchestra conveys the spirit of adventure, the sense of risk and the danger of the Apollo mission.

Conceived as a love story between the Moon and the Earth, the text includes quotes from poet Sara Teasdale, President John F Kennedy ('We choose to go to the Moon') and Apollo 11 Commander Neil Armstrong. We get a sense of danger in the Moon's closeness in a line from Shakespeare's Othello: 'She comes more nearer earth than she was wont. And makes men mad.'

In the first half of the concert, Vaughan Williams’s Serenade to Music begins with the words ‘How sweet the moonlight’, his Toward the unknown region is about travelling to the unknown, and Barber’s Adagio for Strings was played at President Kennedy’s funeral – six years before his moon landing vision was fulfilled in 1969.

Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre
South Bank
This advertisement was submitted by Hertfordshire Chorus.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.