We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Weekend: Bach at the Café Zimmermann - Cheltenham Music Festival

Sunday July 1, 2018 at 11:00
Syde Manor, Syde
Day ticket £110
Phone for tickets: 01242 850270
Phone lines open: Tuesday – Friday, 10am – 2pm
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Trio Sonata No 2 in F Op 1 No 2 - Tomaso Albinoni
  2. Capriccio on the departure of a beloved brother, in B flat BWV 992 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Concerto No 5 for keyboard and strings in F minor BWV 1056 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Aria Rofilis, on a theme from Jean-Baptiste Lully's Ballet de l'impatience - Dietrich Buxtehude, after Jean-Baptiste Lully
  5. Ouverture Suite in D - Philipp Heinrich Erlebach
  6. Cantata 'Widerstehe doch der Sünde' BWV 54 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  7. Cantata, 'Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust' BWV 170 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  8. Cantata 'Ich habe genug' BWV 82 - Johann Sebastian Bach

The incomparably brilliant, charismatic Iranian-American harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani opens the 2018 Cheltenham Music Festival with a day of intimate concerts in the stunning setting of Syde Manor. The later two concerts of this four-concert series series pays tribute to Bach’s favoured Leipzig coffee house, where he led regular musical gatherings – the original Coffee Concerts – throughout the 1730s. Including music by Buxtehude and Lully alongside plenty of Bach. Mezzo-soprano Sarah Connolly brings this special weekend to a close with arias from Bach’s cantatas Widerstehe doch der Sünde and Ich habe genug and a complete performance of Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust.

Ticket includes lunch and all drinks

Concert times:

Sunday 1 July, 11am and 3pm

Syde Manor
GL53 9PN
This advertisement was submitted by Cheltenham Festivals.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.