We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Bristol Concert Orchestra | Schubert's Great Symphony No 9 and Bruch

Saturday March 9, 2019 at 19:30
St George's Bristol, Bristol
£15, £12, £8 (concession £2 discount), under 18s £1 (+fee);
Phone for tickets: 0845 40 24 001 (St George's Bristol)
Phone lines open: 10am - 6pm (12-4pm Sundays)
Other Sources: in person at St George's Bristol
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Sea Reivers - Sir Granville Bantock
  2. Kol Nidrei, for cello and orchestra Op 47 - Max Bruch
  3. La muse et le poète, for violin, cello and orchestra Op 132 - Camille Saint-Saëns
  4. Symphony No 9 in C, 'Great' D 944 - Franz Schubert

The tumultuous conclusion of Bantock’s Sea Reivers (a ‘Hebridean Sea-Poem’ depicting the exploits of Hebridean pirates), gives way to the captivating beauty and calm of Bruch’s Kol Nidrei (Adagio on two Hebrew melodies) for cello and orchestra. Young virtuoso cellist Frankie Carr is then joined by talented local violinist Jo Edwards playing the rhapsodic muse to the more grounded poet in the Saint-Saens rarity La muse et le poète – something of an intimate conversation between the two instruments, with the violin coaxing the cello into ever more elaborate excursions upwards towards the energetic close.

For the grand finale, Schubert’s ‘Great’ Symphony No 9. The last symphony he completed, it was written when he (mistakenly) thought his ill-health had abated, so this work ‘of heavenly length’ is full of the joys of life and rhythmical vigour including the breathtaking and restless last movement relentlessly propelling us towards the majestic conclusion.

There will be a retiring collection for St Peter's Hospice.

St George's Bristol
Great George Street, off Park Street
This advertisement was submitted by Bristol Concert Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.