We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Wednesday March 20, 2019 at 19:45
The Anvil, Basingstoke
£41, £37, £30, £23, £15; under 25s and full-time students £11 (includes £3 booking fee)
Phone for tickets: 01256 844244
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Konzertstück for 4 horns and orchestra Op 86 - Robert Schumann
  2. Symphony No 4 in D minor Op 120 - Robert Schumann
  3. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in D minor Op 15 - Johannes Brahms

Schumann’s Konzertstück was written to show off the virtuoso possibilities of the then new valve horn. Its three movements showcase the character of the instrument, with heroic drama in the first, a singing slow movement, and an exuberant finale sure to bring the house down. Schumann's symphony was begun in the flood of works prompted by his marriage, and it contains some of his most inspired music in any form. Brahms’ titanic concerto took many forms, first a sonata for piano duet, then a symphony, before becoming a concerto. Its stormy first movement is followed by a rich slow movement of quiet beauty. The finale is a defiant rondo of great energy which eventually turns to the major mode for a triumphant close.

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Association

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm, The Forge - to book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244

The Anvil
Churchill Way
RG21 7QR
This advertisement was submitted by Anvil Arts.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.