We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Martin Roscoe

Wednesday March 6, 2019 at 19:30
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Sixth Form Centre, Clitheroe
non-members £17; accompanied children or full time students: £5
Other Sources: Platform Gallery, Clitheroe
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. English Suite No 3 in G minor BWV 808 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Hungarian Melody in B Minor D 817 - Franz Schubert
  3. Rondo alla Turca, from Sonata for Piano No 11 in A K 331 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  4. Pagodes, from Estampes - Claude Debussy
  5. Prélude No 3, La puerta del Vino, from 12 Préludes, Book 2 - Claude Debussy
  6. Prélude No 11, La danse de Puck, from 12 Préludes, Book 1 - Claude Debussy
  7. Pavane pour une infante défunte - Maurice Ravel
  8. Rhapsodie espagnole S 254 - Franz Liszt

Martin Roscoe needs very little introduction, being one of Britain's best loved pianists. He is also the Vice-President of Clitheroe Concerts Society and we believe his first recital at Clitheroe was in fact one of his very first public performances as a young and highly promising young pianist. We are delighted to have him play for us again.

Martin is one of the most regular pianists on BBC Radio 3, having had over 500 broadcasts. As well as playing all over the UK, he has also played many times in Europe as well as in the Far East, Australia and South Africa. He has recently recorded the complete Beethoven piano sonatas, to great acclaim. The second disc was reviewed as "one of the truly great recordings of the Waldstein Sonata" .... " perfect musical judgement and a formidable technique..."

Martin's recital is, as always, interesting and imaginative. Bach is followed by Schubert and Mozart, then Debussy, Ravel and Liszt.

Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Sixth Form Centre
York Street
This advertisement was submitted by Clitheroe Concerts Society.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.