We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra with Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider

Friday February 1, 2019 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£10 - £35.50; savings available for subscribers, groups and Go Card holders; bargain seats available from noon on concert day, £8 (subject to availability)
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 9am - 8.30pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Op 61 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Symphony No 6 in B minor, 'Pathétique' Op 74 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Acclaimed as both conductor and soloist, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider brings his twin talents to this powerful Romantic programme, beginning with Beethoven’s enduringly popular Violin Concerto. Written during one of his most creative periods, its long-reaching melodic lines treat the soloist as a co-creator in its grand design. After the drama of the symphonically-scaled first movement, Beethoven gives us a serene slow movement before a buoyant rondo dances its way to the finish. Tchaikovsky’s untimely death, only ten days after conducting the premiere of the 'Pathétique', has focused attention on the story that lies behind the Symphony’s warring emotions. The portentous opening – a brooding bassoon solo – heralds a gripping musical narrative that veers from sighing melodies to shattering outbursts. Tchaikovsky provides some respite in a wistful waltz and a swaggering march, but the extraordinary, heart-wrenching finale is as overwhelming as it gets.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.30pm in the auditorium: Tim Jones on Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 6.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @RoyalNottingham #NottinghamClassics

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.