We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Reading Symphony Orchestra: Copland, Lindberg, Rachmaninov

Saturday July 7, 2018 at 19:30
The Concert Hall in the Town Hall, Reading
£16 / £15 adults; £14 / £12.50 concessions; £5 students and under 18s
Phone for tickets: 0118 946 2667 or 0118 960 6060
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fanfare for the Common Man - Aaron Copland
  2. Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra - Magnus Lindberg
  3. Symphony No 2 in E minor Op 27 - Sergey Rachmaninov

We are delighted to be joined once again by clarinet virtuoso Nicholas Shipman for Magnus Lindberg’s clarinet concerto. Written in 2002 and described by BBC Music Magazine as “indubitably contemporary…yet sensuously easy (tuneful even) on the ear”, you will be dazzled by what a clarinet can do! The second half of the concert will feature Rachmaninov’s beautiful Symphony No 2 – one of his most enduringly popular works, and rightly so. The slow third movement is utterly charming and a real tear-jerker. The concert will begin with Copland’s magnificent Fanfare for the Common Man. Truly a concert not to be missed!

The Concert Hall in the Town Hall
Blagrave Street
This advertisement was submitted by Reading Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.