We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The last hour | Oxford Bach Soloists

Sunday September 9, 2018 at 15:15
New College Chapel, Oxford
£15, £12 (Oxford Uni alumni), £5 (student), free for under 18s
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for keyboard and strings in F BWV 1057 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Chorale Prelude 'Herzlich Tut Mich Verlangen' BWV 727 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Cantata No 161, 'Komm, du süsse Todesstunde' BWV 161 - Johann Sebastian Bach

When Bach decided to transcribe his Brandenburg Concerto No 4, BWV 1049 into the Keyboard Concerto in F, BWV 1057, he created something exceptionally effective from the triple concerto for violin and two recorders. Inspired by the endless possibilities, the harpsichord is deployed in ingenious ways with a wealth of timbres. Bach’s Cantata Komm, du süße Todesstunde is of indescribable charm, the sound of two recorders charactering the peaceful, spiritualised tone that prevails. This mournfully-happy piece is just one of Bach’s many sermons on the hour of death, and contains the German hymn-melody which is best known in this country, the so-called Passion Chorale, HL Hassler’s ‘Herzlich thut mich verlange’, on which Pachelbel set his Chorale and 7 Variations.

New College Chapel
Holywell Street
This advertisement was submitted by Paull Hammond-Davies.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.