We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

A Voyage of Invention | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Wednesday May 1, 2019 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£40, £32.50, £25, £15; booking fees may apply
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Suite No 2 in D major Op 10 - George Enescu
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 3 in B minor Op 61 - Camille Saint-Saëns
  3. Ballade for violin and orchestra - Ciprian Porumbescu
  4. Symphony No 41 in C, 'Jupiter' K 551 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

This programme celebrates the rich music heritage of Romania, beginning with Enescu’s neo-classical Suite No 2, full of spirit and vigour from the composer’s homeland. Renowned violinist Alexandru Tomescu pairs Saint-Saëns's inventive and impressionistic Violin Concerto No 3 with a musical gem of sheer romantic indulgence by little-known Romanian composer Ciprian Porumbescu. Nicknamed the ‘Jupiter’, Mozart’s final symphony is a true eighteenth-century tour de force and widely regarded as the zenith of the Classical period.

This concert is kindly supported by the Romanian Cultural Institute.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.