We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Russian Spirits: Lyadov, Tchaikovsky and Prokofiev | Orchestra of Opera North

Sunday February 24, 2019 at 16:30
Huddersfield Town Hall, Huddersfield
£13, £15, £20, £27 (concessions available); ages 17 to 29: £4; ages 16 and under: £1
Phone for tickets: 01484 225755
Phone lines open: Monday - Friday: 9am to 5pm
Other Sources: Opera North Box Office
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Kikimora Op 63 - Anatoly Konstantinovich Lyadov
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in B flat minor Op 23 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky
  3. Symphony No 5 in B flat Op 100 - Sergey Prokofiev

The legendary Russian nymph, Kikimora, inspired Lyadov’s tone poem for orchestra, feeding the composer’s fascination with folklore. Darkly expressive, the piece evokes the sprite’s evil intentions for the world.

From the unmistakable opening horn chords to the folk tunes woven throughout the thematic material, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is a masterpiece of concerto writing. Boris Giltburg, lauded across the globe as a deeply sensitive, insightful and compelling musician, débuts in Kirklees to perform the expressive solo.

Prokofiev’s Symphony No 5 is an homage to the spirit of man. Inspired in the summer of 1944, during World War II, this symphony is distinctly Prokofiev in both substance and style and quotes his beloved ballets Cinderella and Romeo and Juliet.

Fresh from conducting Opera North’s new production of Tosca, we’re pleased to welcome Antony Hermus to the podium for the afternoon’s concert.

Huddersfield Town Hall
Ramsden Street
West Yorkshire
This advertisement was submitted by Opera North Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.