We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Charlie Siem performs Tchaikovsky | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Wednesday November 7, 2018 at 19:30
G Live, Guildford
£42, £40.50, £37, £25.50
Phone for tickets: 0844 7701 797
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Hebrides Overture, 'Fingal's Cave' Op 26 - Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Op 35 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky
  3. Symphony No 2 in D Op 43 - Jean Sibelius

Opening the concert is Mendelssohn’s Hebrides Overture, which conjures the sights and sounds of Scottish scenery, from calm still waters to intense and dramatic storms.

With its unrelenting energy and use of Russian peasant dance rhythms, Tchaikovsky’s stunning masterpiece is notably one of the most difficult violin concertos in the repertoire and provides an impressive centrepiece to this evening’s concert.

One of Sibelius’s most engaging and beautiful compositions, his Symphony No 2 evokes the expansive, glacial landscape of his native Finland. From an anguished, slow movement to a finale of furious passion, this piece climaxes in a flourish of exhilarating heroism.

G Live
London Road
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.