We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Beethoven, Saint-Saëns, Bloch | Thames Philharmonia

Saturday December 1, 2018 at 19:30
Landmark Arts Centre, Teddington
£15, concessions/LAC members £12, children under 16 £5
Phone for tickets: 020 8977 7558
Phone lines open: 09:30 — 16:00
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Leonore Overture No 1 Op 138 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Op 61 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Symphony No 2 in A Minor Op 55 - Camille Saint-Saëns
  4. Two last poems (Maybe..), for flute and orchestra - Ernest Bloch

Beethoven is the cornerstone of this celebration of resilience, loyalty and hope; a story told in each of these compositions spanning 150 years. Both Saints-Saëns and Bloch were students of his compositional genius and innovation and keen performers of his work at the piano and on the podium.

Soojin Han is the soloist for Beethoven’s violin concerto (1806) which only gained acceptance following a London tour by Joseph Joachim (age 12) conducted by Mendelssohn in 1844 and this sublime and ultimately cheerful work has been popular ever since. “Soojin is a wonderful violinist with extraordinary subtlety and great expressiveness...and remarkable instrumental mastery” - Gidon Kremer.

Beethoven composed four overtures to the various versions of the opera Fidelio, the Leonore Overture No 1, was the third, written for a tour of the opera to Prague that was cancelled and was anecdotally preferred by the composer even though superseded by the lighter 'Fidelio Overture' in future performances as an introduction to an opera thought to be more 'suitable’. All Leonore overtures demonstrate the attempt to capture in compressed form the action on stage in sound, resulting in an impressive concentration of motives and harmonic developments.

The programme features a poignant and evocative piece by Ernest Bloch, with the tentatively valedictory title 'Two last poems (Maybe...)' for flute and orchestra (1958). The soloist is Anna Bell, the orchestra’s principal flautist. Albert Einstein, the first President of the Bloch Society wrote, “I esteem the works of Ernest Bloch above those of any other contemporary composer known to me”.

Saint-Saëns, a composer of the mid 19th/early 20th century supported the most modern music of the time (Liszt, Schumann, Wagner) but retained a distinctive voice of his own and withstood pressure from critics of the day preferring to draw upon his classical background. His short 2nd Symphony is a fine example of orchestral economy and structural cohesion showing his skill in fugal writing with the Gallic charm of Rameau.

Landmark Arts Centre
Ferry Road
TW11 9NN
This advertisement was submitted by Thames Philharmonia.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.