We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

BBC Philharmonic

Friday June 7, 2019 at 19:30
King George's Hall, Blackburn
£18 (concessions and multiple date discounts available)
Phone for tickets: 01254 582579
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm, Saturday: 10am to 3pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Ma mère l’oye, 'Mother Goose' - Maurice Ravel
  2. Concerto for violin and orchestra No 1 in D Op 19 - Sergey Prokofiev
  3. Symphony No 9 in E minor, 'From the New World' Op 95 - Antonín Dvorák

With the help of Sleeping Beauty, Prince Charming, Beauty and the Beast and Tom Thumb amongst others, Ravel leads us into a fairy-tale sound-world in one of his most exquisite creations. Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto, composed against the turbulent backdrop of the Russian Revolution, vividly captures a world in flux – it’s a roller-coaster ride for both listener and soloist, tonight featuring the brilliant violinist Ye-Eun Choi. After the premiere in New York of Dvorák’s richly melodic ‘New World’ Symphony, the audience simply went wild and soon Dvorák collars, ties and walking sticks were all the rage!

Pre-concert talk: Simon Webb, General Manager at BBC Philharmonic, discusses the evening’s programme with Ye-Eun Choi. The talk will commence on the raked seating at 6.30pm. Tickets cost £3 and include a complimentary drink.

King George's Hall
This advertisement was submitted by King George's Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.