We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Joel Siepmann (cello) and Mihály Berecz (piano) play Bach and Brahms

Monday February 25, 2019 at 13:10
St James's Church, Piccadilly, London
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. Sonata for cello and piano No 3 in G minor BWV 1029 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Sonata for cello and piano No 2 in F Op 99 - Johannes Brahms

Joel Siepmann was born in Tübingen, Germany, where he started playing the cello at the age of 6.

From 2011 until 2015 he studied at the Folkwang University of Arts in Essen with professor Christoph Richter and completed his Bachelor degree with distinction. In 2016 he started his Masters degree at the Royal Academy of Music with Guy Johnston as his teacher generously supported by the German Academic Exchange Service. He completed his degree in 2018 with distinction and was awarded the Queens award for Excellence for best all-round studentship.

Joel was principal cellist of the academy string Soloists and took part in the LSO string experience scheme playing under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle and Francois-Xavier Roth. Through his career he has performed with various orchestras and ensembles in the great concert halls of London, Berlin, Paris, St. Petersburg, Seoul, Tokyo and Shanghai.

Further coachings and lessons with Lynn Harrell, Anner Bylsma, Jerome Pernoo, Colin Carr and Steven Isserlis were very important for his musical development.

With his piano trio Trio Opal he recently won the intercollegiate piano trio competition 2018 in Birmingham and will perform with his trio at the International Piano Chamber Music Festival in Birmingham in November this year.

He is also member of Lawrence Power’s Collegium Ensemble and Milos Karadraglic’s Ensemble 7 performing at venues such as Kings Place, Snape Maltings and Cadogan Hall.

Joel plays on a cello by GE Degani (1906) generously on loan to him by the Royal Academy of Music.

Born in Budapest, Hungary in 1997, Mihály Berecz began studying the violin at the age of six at the Szent István Király Zenemuvészeti zakközépiskola in Budapest. Whilst continuing to play violin in orchestras, three years later he chose to devote his studies to the piano with Edit Major and Erzsébet Belák. Mihály is currently a second-year undergraduate at London’s Royal Academy of Music studying with Hamish Milne and Joanna MacGregor.

As winner of the Debut Berlin International Concerto Competition in 2017, Mihály made his debut at the Philarmonie, Berlin in June 2017 with the German National Orchestra.

Mihály’s previous awards include gold prize in the II. Manhattan International Music Competition and the Harriet Cohen Bach Prize at the Royal Academy of Music.

At the invitation of Zoltán Kocsis, Mihály made his debut at the Béla Bartók National Concert Hall in 2013 in a performance of Ravel’s Concerto in G Major which was broadcast live by the Bartók Radio. He received critical acclaim for his performances of this work in 2016 as did his performance of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 at the Franz Liszt Academy later that year.

Having regularly featured in the ‘Beethoven in Budapest’ Festivals, Mihály combined his love of Beethoven with an interest in historically influenced performance in a concert of Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 2 and Mozart’s Concerto K 456 on an Anton Walter fortepiano-copy with the Orfeo Orchestra and György Vashegyi at the Eszterházy Palace in Fertod. He has participated in masterclasses with distinguished pianists and other musicians including Arie Vardi, Imogen Cooper, Pascal Devoyon, Ian Fountain, Tamás Vásáry, Malcolm Bilson, Adrian Brendel and Bengt Forsberg.

Free recital (retiring collection)

St James's Church, Piccadilly
197 Piccadilly
This advertisement was submitted by St James's Church.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.