We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Zhenyu Shi (piano) plays Haydn and Schumann

Monday March 18, 2019 at 13:10
St James's Church, Piccadilly, London
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. Sonata for Keyboard No 59 in E flat Hob XVI:49 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  2. Faschingsschwank aus Wien Op 26 - Robert Schumann

Zhenyu Shi completed her Bachelor at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama Professor Noriko Ogawa and Professor Laura Roberts. She is currently on the master course at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama with Professor Noriko Ogawa and Professor Philip Jenkins. She began her piano studies at the Subsidiary Middle School of Shenyang Conservatory of Music in China. Later she moved to England and studied with Valentina Seferinova in Southdowns college.

Monica has won several awards and prizes including the Haitai Piano Competition in China, and the Solent Symphony Orchestra Concerto Award. She has also appeared in concert halls in China, Poland, Germany, France and UK. In her performance of the Beethoven Piano Concerto No 3 with Solent Symphony Orchestra in Portsmouth received high critical acclaim, described by the Portsmouth News as being ‘dazzling virtuosity… and (audiences were) moved by her natural poetry’, and ‘sensational… and were of rare quality.

She has taken part in master classes with many leading European pianists, most notably Erik Tawaststjerna, Uta Weyand, Ilja Scheps, Jan Jiracek Von Arnim, Pavel Gililov, Yoheved Kaplinsky, Lev Natochenny, Robert Levin, Norma Fisher, and Tatiana Sarkissova.

Zhenyu is now finishing her postgraduate with a scholarship sponsored by the Mayflower Theater.

Free recital (retiring collection)

St James's Church, Piccadilly
197 Piccadilly
This advertisement was submitted by St James's Church.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.