We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Cheltenham Music Festival - Stravinsky's Rite Of Spring, arranged for 2 pianos

Saturday July 6, 2019 at 21:30
Cheltenham Town Hall, Cheltenham
Phone for tickets: 01242 850270
Phone lines open: Tuesday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune - Claude Debussy, arranged for piano 4 hands by Maurice Ravel
  2. New work - Alex Mills
  3. The Rite of Spring, 'Le sacre du printemps', transcribed for piano 4 hands - Igor Stravinsky

This performance sees two great 20th century works stripped down and presented in their purest form on two pianos. They are separated by an exciting new work by one of the alumni of Cheltenham Festivals’ Composer Academy. Debussy’s work was originally conceived as a symphonic poem for orchestra, and later provided the basis for Njinsky’s iconic choreography as a ballet. Stravinsky’s uncompromising masterpiece The Rite of Spring remains essential listening over 100 years after it was first created, and still has the power to shock and astonish.

Kindly supported by Kamala Chelliah-Boardman

Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
GL50 1QA
This advertisement was submitted by Cheltenham Festivals.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.