We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Italian Job | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday October 12, 2019 at 19:30
Fairfield Halls, Croydon
£15 - £44.75
Phone for tickets: 020 3292 0001
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from L'Italiana in Algeri, 'The Italian Girl in Algiers' - Gioachino Rossini
  2. Notturno Op 70 No 1 - Giuseppe Martucci
  3. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 26 - Max Bruch
  4. Symphony No 3 in E flat, 'Eroica' Op 55 - Ludwig van Beethoven

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra gives a big welcome back as Orchestra in Partnership at Fairfield Halls in Croydon, where the RPO has been entertaining audiences with incredible orchestral music for many decades, and opens its new 2019-20 Season in spectacular style.

Rossini’s illustrative Overture from L'Italiana in Algeri, with its unwinding, energetic energies is contrasted by Martucci, whose Notturno has a wholly different Italian flavour in its exquisite elegance. Closing the first half is Bruch’s Violin Concerto No 1 with Italian soloist Francesco Dego, a work that unleashes the full spectrum of the instrument and to this day is one of the most popular works in the violin repertoire.

Beethoven’s Symphony No 3 is considered by many – including the composer himself – to be his greatest symphony. The passionate fervour of its composition shows itself from the audacious opening movement, and the symphony’s complex ideas never fail to find emotional weight in the masterstrokes of a fiery young genius who began to define what it meant to be a Romantic.

Fairfield Halls
Park Lane
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.