We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Joy and James Lisney (cello and piano)

Sunday May 19, 2019 at 16:00
St George's Bristol, Bristol
£20, £17, £17.50, £15, £12, £5 concessions
Phone for tickets: 0845 40 24 001
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Sonata for viola da gamba and harpsichord in G major BWV 1027 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Sonata for cello and piano in G minor Op 65 - Fryderyk Chopin
  3. Chaconne from Partita in D minor, for solo violin BWV 1004 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed for solo cello by Joy Lisney
  4. Sonata for violin and piano No 1 in G (arranged for cello and piano in D) Op 78 - Johannes Brahms, arranged by Paul Klengel

Bach’s awe-inspiring Chaconne takes centre stage in a programme with Brahms and Chopin from one of the UK’s most exciting cello and piano duos.

When Johannes Brahms stumbled upon Bach’s Chaconne in 1877, he couldn’t believe his eyes: ‘On one stave, for a small instrument, the man writes a whole world of the deepest thoughts and most powerful feelings. If I imagined that I could have created, even conceived the piece, I am quite certain that the excess of excitement and earth-shattering experience would have driven me out of my mind.’

Cellist Joy Lisney’s transcription of this work is a tour-de-force of instrumental ingenuity, musicianship and virtuosity.

The programme concludes with Brahms’s Regensonate in D; an intensely nostalgic work that Clara Schumann described as ‘blissful’ and ‘melancholic’ – music that she wanted to accompany her ‘at that passage from here to eternity’.

St George's Bristol
Great George Street, off Park Street
This advertisement was submitted by Frances Wilson.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.