We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Best of British | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday November 30, 2019 at 19:30
G Live, Guildford
£27 - £43.50
Phone for tickets: 01483 369350
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from The Wasps - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  2. A Shropshire Lad (Orchestral Rhapsody) - George Butterworth
  3. Capriol Suite, for piano 4 hands, arranged by the composer for orchestra - Peter Warlock
  4. Excerpts, from Sea Pictures Op 37 - Sir Edward Elgar
  5. Dambusters March - Eric Coates
  6. Water Music - George Frideric Handel
    • Overture (Largo – Allegro) in F major
    • Air in F major
    • Hornpipe in F major
  7. The Lark Ascending Op 50 - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  8. Marching Song, from 2 Songs without Words Op 22 - Gustav Holst
  9. Nimrod, from 'Enigma Variations' - Sir Edward Elgar, aranged by Roger Harvey
  10. Finale, from Variations on an original theme, 'Enigma' Op 36 - Sir Edward Elgar
  11. Jerusalem - Sir Charles Hubert Hastings Parry, arranged by Sir Edward Elgar
  12. Pomp and Circumstance March No 4 in G Op 39 - Sir Edward Elgar

Embracing British music in all its rich and diverse range, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra leads you on a journey through green and pleasant lands in a concert that celebrates some of the country’s finest music. Vaughan Williams’s The Lark Ascending, with its lyrical and soaring violin line, features alongside the blazing fanfares and noble themes of Coates's Dambusters March and Parry's Jerusalem.

Elgar’s ever-popular, and quintessentially English Pomp and Circumstance March No 4 provides a fantastic finish to this performance. This piece was a landmark not just for Elgar, but for British music.

G Live
London Road
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.