We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

London Philharmonic Orchestra: 2006 - The new Bacchus

Wednesday March 25, 2020 at 19:30
Royal Festival Hall, London
£46-£14, premium seats £65
Phone for tickets: 020 7840 4242
Phone lines open: 10am-5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 4 in B flat Op 60 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Notes on Light, for cello and orchestra - Kaija Saariaho
  3. The Poem of Ecstasy Op 54 - Alexander Scriabin

‘I am the new Bacchus, pressing out glorious wine for the human spirit’, proclaimed Ludwig van Beethoven, and although his Fourth Symphony is sometimes considered his most light-hearted, there’s no mistaking the ambition, the fantasy and the pure, electrifying inspiration that pulses through every note. Omer Meir Wellber knows just how to harness that energy, and when – as in Scriabin’s orgasmic Poem of Ecstasy – to set it free. And cellist Johannes Moser might be the finest current champion of Kaija Saariaho’s ravishing Notes on Light; a masterpiece from 2006 speaking across two centuries to its counterparts from 1806 and 1906.

Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
This advertisement was submitted by London Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.