We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Behold and see | Oxford Bach Soloists

Sunday August 4, 2019 at 15:00
New College Chapel, Oxford
£15, £12 (Oxford Uni alumni), £5 (student), free for under 18s
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Cantata No 186, 'Ärgre dich, o Seele, nicht' BWV 186 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Cantata No 136, 'Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz' BWV 136 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Cantata No 105, 'Herr, gehe nicht ins Gericht' BWV 105 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Cantata No 46, 'Schauet doch und sehet' BWV 46 - Johann Sebastian Bach

Recycling was very much a part of the 18th century composer’s armory, and Bach’s efforts were the most inventive. Cantata 186, which started life in Weimar 1716, is presented in its later, expanded version.

Cantata 136 opens with one of the most confident choruses ever written. Rushing semiquaver scales skirl about the horn heralding the main tune. Bach later recycled this chorus as the ‘Cum sancto spiritu’ of the Lutheran Mass in A (BWV 234).

Cantata 105 holds us in breathless suspense with the most beautiful plaintive soprano aria. Cantata 46 stands unique among the two hundred cantatas for grim power and tense drama, and its opening section came to be re-used in the B minor Mass.

New College Chapel
Holywell Street
This advertisement was submitted by Paull Hammond-Davies.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.