We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Sanctus | Oxford Bach Soloists

Sunday September 1, 2019 at 15:00
New College Chapel, Oxford
£15, £12 (Oxford Uni alumni), £5 (student), free for under 18s
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Cantata No 179, 'Siehe zu, dass deine Gottesfurcht nicht Heuchelei sei' BWV 179 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Cantata No 69, 'Lobe den Herrn, meine Seele' BWV69 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Cantata No 77, 'Du sollt Gott in allen Landen!' BWV77 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Sanctus in C major BWV 237 - Johann Sebastian Bach

A stirring Sanctus in C major, and three cantatas with big statements: BWV 179 preaches against hypocrisy with marvelous directness; BWV 77 illustrates the second of Jesus’ two commandments recounted in the gospel narratives – to ‘love thy neighbour as thyself’ – in a potent musical doctrine foreshadowing Brahms’s German Requiem; and BWV 69a enjoins us to praise the Lord and ‘do not forget what good He has done for you!’ with brilliant trumpet trills and vigorous arpeggios.

New College Chapel
Holywell Street
This advertisement was submitted by Paull Hammond-Davies.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.