We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Ionian Singers with Rebecca Hepplewhite (cello)

Saturday July 6, 2019 at 19:30
St Peter's Church, Vauxhall, London
£10 (concessions £8)
Phone for tickets: 020 8693 1051 or 07950 143916
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Yugoslav Folk Songs - Mátyás Seiber
  2. Hi! River Broad & Bright - Modest Mussorgsky
  3. 2 roses Op 53 No 2 - César Antonovich Cui
  4. 5 Czech Madrigals - Bohuslav Martinu
  5. Phantasma for cello and piano - Timothy Salter
  6. Prelude in F for cello and piano Op 2 No 1 - Sergey Rachmaninov
  7. 3 Vocal Quartets, for chorus with cello accompaniment Op 57 - Anton Arensky
  8. Pièce en forme de habanera - Maurice Ravel, transcribed for cello and piano by Paul Bazelaire
  9. Élégie for cello and piano Op 24 - Gabriel Fauré
  10. 7 arabesques, for cello and piano H 201 - Bohuslav Martinu
  11. The Willow Song, from 3 Elizabethan songs - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  12. O Mistress Mine - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  13. The long day closes - Sir Arthur Sullivan, lyrics by Henry Fothergill Chorley
  14. Cold blows the wind - arranged by Timothy Salter
  15. O no John - Traditional, arranged by Timothy Salter

The Ionian Singers with Timothy Salter (conductor and pianist) and the cellist Rebecca Hepplewhite present an evening of music across a continent from Russia to England – well-loved choral repertoire by Sullivan and Vaughan Williams along with less familiar works by Bohuslav Martinu and Cesar Cui, and folk-based songs from Matyas Seiber. The music for cello and piano includes works by by Fauré, Ravel Rachmaninov and Salter (three sharply-etched pieces, Phantasma). The performers join forces in Arensky’s Three Songs for chorus and cello, and folk-song arrangements by Salter conclude the programme.

St Peter's Church, Vauxhall
Kennington Lane
SE11 5HY

This advertisement was submitted by The Ionian Singers.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.