We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Prague Symphony Orchestra with Pietari Inkinen and Laura Van der Heijden (cello)

Wednesday November 13, 2019 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£11 - £37; discounts available for multibuy bookers, subscribers and groups; Go Card tickets £5 for under 26s
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 9am to 8.30pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. The Bartered Bride - Bedrich Smetana
    • Overture
    • 3 Dances
  2. Concerto for cello and orchestra No 1 in D H 196 - Bohuslav Martinu
  3. Symphony No 9 in E minor, 'From the New World' Op 95 - Antonín Dvorák

Smetana’s helter-skelter overture and three zestful dances from The Bartered Bride opens this return visit by the Prague Symphony Orchestra. Continuing this all-Czech programme is the brilliant young British cellist, Laura Van der Heijden, winner of BBC Young Musician 2012. She performs Martinu’s agile, engaging First Cello Concerto, influenced by the baroque concerto grossi of Corelli, but speaking with a Bohemian voice, particularly in the tender slow movement. Dvorák’s final symphony was first performed in New York, where he’d served as the Director of the National Conservatory of Music. The wide-open spaces of his adopted country are felt in its expansive span and muscular gestures, with echoes of the musical traditions of its African American and Native American populations, but the symphony’s folk-infused melodies also look back to his Bohemian homeland. Few examples of musical fusion have been more successful and the 'New World' Symphony is no less popular over a century later.

Pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium: Laura Van der Heijden in conversation.

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @RoyalNottingham #Nottinghamclassics

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.