We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra and Steven Osborne

Thursday June 13, 2019 at 19:30
Cheltenham Town Hall, Cheltenham
£33.50 £28.50 £17.50 £13.50
Phone for tickets: 0844 576 2210
Phone lines open: 10am–5.30pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto in E flat 'Dumbarton Oaks' - Igor Stravinsky
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F Op 102 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  3. Pavane pour une infante défunte - Maurice Ravel
  4. Symphony in C - Georges Bizet

'One of the very finest of pianists' (The Guardian) Steven Osborne makes his debut with the Orchestra in a concert that springs with freshness and joie de vivre. Stravinsky sought to capture the ordered instrumental bustle of Bach's Brandenburg Concertos in his own 'Dumbarton Oaks', while Bizet also took classical ideals of good, clean fun to heart while writing his graceful Symphony in C. Preceding the austere beauty of Ravel's Pavane, Osborne is the soloist in Shostakovich's most bejeweled creation: the playful, tender Piano Concerto No. 2, a gift from the composer to his son.

Pre-concert talk 18:30-19:00 - Steven Osborne in conversation with Marios Papadopoulos; free admission with ticket

Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
GL50 1QA
This advertisement was submitted by Georgia Goody-Miceli.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.