We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Italian Romance | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday October 11, 2019 at 19:30
The Hawth, Crawley
£16 - £32
Phone for tickets: 01293 553636
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Così fan tutte K 588 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Notturno Op 70 No 1 - Giuseppe Martucci
  3. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 26 - Max Bruch
  4. Symphony No 4 in A, 'Italian' Op 90 - Felix Mendelssohn

Tonight’s concert celebrates Italy’s rich tradition of orchestral music. The Overture to Mozart’s sharply satirical Così fan tutte opera provides a playful opening, which gives way to Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno No 1, with its yearning melodic lines and soothing orchestration.

A highlight of this evening will be Bruch’s much-loved Violin Concerto No 1 performed by Italian violinist Francesca Dego. This piece unleashes the full spectrum of the instrument and to this day is one of the most popular works in the violin repertoire.

Mendelssohn’s buoyant and cheerful Symphony No 4, ‘Italian’ closes this concert with panache and flair; a charming expression of how Italy made him feel.

The Hawth
Hawth Avenue
West Sussex
RH10 6YZ
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.