We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Sing of Love | City of Bristol Choir

Saturday October 19, 2019 at 19:30
St George's Bristol, Bristol
£28, £23, £18, £15, some seats half price for students in full time education and under 18s
Phone for tickets: 0845 40 24 001
Phone lines open: Mon-Sat, 10am-6pm and 1.5 hours before concerts
Other Sources: St George's, Mon-Fri, 10am-6pm and 1.5 hours before concerts
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Sappho sings - Jonathan Dove
  2. Our revels now are ended - Jonathan Dove
  3. Serenade to Music - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  4. Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  5. Rejoice in the lamb Op 30 - Benjamin Britten
  6. Let us garlands bring - 5 Shakespeare songs Op 18 - Gerald Finzi
    • Fear no more the heat o' the sun
    • It was a lover and his lass

The 100-strong City of Bristol Choir and Bristol’s professional orchestra present a wonderful celebration of love in words and music.

Marking the 60th birthday of Jonathan Dove, the concert features two of his most recent works performed in the presence of the composer: Our revels now are ended, an atmospheric setting of the immortal speech from Shakespeare’s The Tempest, and Sappho Sings, a suite of passionate and atmospheric songs for choir and orchestra with poetry by the archaic female Greek poet Sappho in a new translation by Alasdair Middleton.

Sappho lived over 2,500 years ago. Of the thousands of lines of lyric poetry she is believed to have written, only a few hundred survive, and with the exception of one complete poem, all that remain are fragments.

Dove uses six fragments of text in the work. He described his excitement at the process of composing the piece, “As I started to explore these words musically, and imagine ways they could be sung by a choir accompanied by an orchestra, I found an exhilarating freedom in the sparseness: just three words, ‘You burn me’ might become a whole song.”

Four of the fragments are songs of love, in different forms; they are framed by an evocation of the goddess of love, and a vision of the moon.
Rhythmic vibrancy, memorable melodies, and vivid orchestral colours all combine in a seductive work that dazzles and inspires.

Words from The Merchant of Venice are set in Vaughan Williams’s beautiful Serenade to Music and, in his great hymn of praise and love for all creation, Rejoice in the Lamb, Britten brings to life Christopher Smart’s idiosyncratic poem with character and vitality.

The award-winning baritone Marcus Farnsworth sings two of Finzi’s most popular Shakespeare settings: Fear no more the heat o’ the sun and It was a lover and his lass, and completing the programme is one of the most celebrated of all orchestral works, Vaughan Williams’s stirring Fantasia on a theme of Thomas Tallis for string orchestra in a version made exactly 100 years ago.

St George's Bristol
Great George Street, off Park Street
This advertisement was submitted by City of Bristol Choir.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.