We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Celestial Conflict and Resolution:Motets by JC and JS Bach-Thomas Tallis Society

Saturday November 9, 2019 at 19:45
St Alfege Church, Greenwich, London
£14, £20
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht BWV 118 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Cantata 'Ich habe genug' BWV 82 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Es erhub sich ein Streit - Johann Christoph Bach
  4. Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden BWV 230 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Cantata No 50, 'Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft' BWV 50 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  6. Cantata No 19, 'Es erhub sich ein Streit' BWV 19 - Johann Sebastian Bach

The Thomas Tallis Society Choir and Orchestra of The Sixteen, conducted by Eamonn Dougan, will perform two spectacular cantatas for the feast of St Michael, portraying the battle for heaven, by two members of the Bach family: Johann Sebastian and his uncle Johann Christoph. These cantatas frame two more reflective works, the beautiful funeral motet O Jesu Christ, mein Lebens Licht and cantata 82, Ich habe genug, performed on this occasion in its less familiar version for tenor solo. The Thomas Tallis Society are delighted to welcome back renowned Bach specialist Nicholas Mulroy as soloist. The programme also includes the JS Bach motet Lobet den Herrn and BWV50 Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft, long assumed to be part of a lost cantata.

Tickets are selling quickly - book now to avoid disappointment! Tickets are priced at £14 and £20 and are available online and at the door (subject to availability).

For more details about this and upcoming concerts, follow the Thomas Tallis Society on Twitter or join our Faceook group. We look forward to seeing you at the concert!

St Alfege Church, Greenwich
Greenwich Church Street
SE10 9BJ
This advertisement was submitted by Thomas Tallis Society.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.