We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Cancelled: Shostakovich and Mendelssohn | Orchestra of the City

Saturday June 13, 2020 at 19:30
Clifton Cathedral, Bristol
£22, £18, £15 (£5 students)
Phone for tickets: 0117 203 4040
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am - 6pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture in C - Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F Op 102 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  3. Symphony No 3 in A minor, 'Scottish' Op 56 - Felix Mendelssohn

The Orchestra of the City makes its Bristol debut this summer with Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No 2. An instrumental tour de force, it flits between mischievous wit and majestic splendour, through the heart-wrenching beauty of its slow movement, to a blistering rhythmic finale.

Alongside is Mendelssohn’s brooding 'Scottish' Symphony, inspired by a twilight walk around the chapel ruins at Edinburgh’s Holyrood Palace.

Since its first concert in 2003, the Orchestra of the City has given over 60 performances including world premieres and performances alongside acclaimed international soloists across London and the UK.

Clifton Cathedral
Clifton Park
This advertisement was submitted by Clifton International Festival of Music.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.