We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

1771 - a retrospective | The Mozartists

Thursday July 8, 2021 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£18-45 plus venue transaction booking fee
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Symphony No 42 in F major K 75 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Non ti chieggo amor, from Adamo ed Eva - Josef Myslivecek
  3. Concerto for Harpsichord in C minor Wq 43 No 4 - Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
  4. Scena, 'E non degg’io seguirla… Lungi da te', from Armida - Antonio Salieri
  5. Symphony No 44 in E minor, 'Trauersinfonie' - (Franz) Joseph Haydn

Ian Page’s visionary Mozart 250 series continues to build a widespread and highly enthusiastic following. The first of The Mozartists’ concerts since lockdown is a diverse and illuminating overview of the musical year 1771, featuring an exquisite selection of works that were composed and premiered 250 years ago. These include an un-numbered Mozart symphony, beautiful vocal rarities by Myslivecek and Salieri and an astonishingly original concerto by CPE Bach, and the programme culminates with Haydn’s magnificent `Trauer’ symphony, whose elegiac slow movement the composer was said to have wanted to be performed at his funeral. The soloists are former BBC New Generation Artist Kitty Whately and acclaimed harpsichordist Steven Devine, and Ian Page conducts his outstanding period-instrument orchestra.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Classical Opera.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.