We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Online: London Mozart Players Classical Club - Bows and Oboes

Tuesday December 1, 2020 at 19:00
Available online until
Tuesday December 1, 2020
Online, London Mozart Players Classical Club, London
£12 for individual concert ticket, £50 for 8 concert pass (until 31 October, then £60)
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra in D AV 144 - Richard Strauss
  2. Symphony No 4 in A, 'Italian' Op 90 - Felix Mendelssohn

A chance encounter at the end of World War Two between composer Richard Strauss and a young American solider, a professional oboist in civilian life, planted the seed of an idea that flourished into the finest oboe concerto written in the 20th century, performed online for London Mozart Players Classical Club by a wonderful soloist.

Although seemingly light and playful, Strauss’s Oboe Concerto is exceptionally difficult, with circular breathing a pre-requisite. We are delighted to showcase a young oboist at the start of his career, YCAT artist Olivier Stankiewicz, who performs the solo, under the baton of young conductor Mateusz Moleda. The programme also includes Mendelssohn’s jaunty and optimistic Italian Symphony. This concert will be filmed before a socially-distancing audience at Fairfield Halls, Croydon, where the London Mozart Players have their residency, and streamed online as part of the LMP Classical Club series.

Enjoy the whole 8 concert series online via LMP’s Classical Club, tickets just £12 each or £50 for the full 8 concert series if you book before 31 October (£60 thereafter).

Online, London Mozart Players Classical Club
This advertisement was submitted by London Mozart Players.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.