We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Online: The Hallé - Shostakovich’s Dazzling First

Wednesday May 12, 2021 at 12:00
Available online until
Thursday July 1, 2021
Online, Manchester
£14, concessions £5
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Overture for orchestra - Grazyna Bacewicz
  2. Suite, Appalachian Spring - Aaron Copland
  3. Symphony No 1 in F minor Op 10 - Dmitry Shostakovich

Awarded First Prize in the 2020 Siemens-Hallé International Conductors Competition, Bulgarian born Delyana Lazarova is an exceptional young talent and the Hallé’s new Assistant Conductor. She is a passionate enthusiast of the music of Grazyna Bacewicz, the first Polish female composer to achieve an international reputation. Her Overture, composed in a time of fear during Second World War, blazes with defiance and courage, and secretly incorporated the morse code’s V for ‘victory’ rhythm. In his greatest ballet score, Appalachian Spring, Copland totally absorbed the spirit of American hymnody, as exemplified by the Shaker hymn, ‘Simple Gifts’. Shostakovich’s First Symphony was given its UK premiere by the Hallé under Sir Hamilton Harty in 1932. The work dazzles with compositional brilliance, whether displaying sardonic humour, plunging emotional depths or indulging in a sheer sense of fun.

For more information on the event, how to book, and how to view the event, visit here

This advertisement was submitted by The Halle.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.