We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Origin: This is CLS | City of London Sinfonia

Thursday March 3, 2022 at 19:00
Southwark Cathedral, London
£25, £20; concessions and discounts available
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Toccata, from L'Orfeo - Claudio Monteverdi
  2. Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  3. Frozen River Flows, for oboe and percussion - Dobrinka Tabakova
  4. The Centre is Everywhere, for string ensemble - Edmund Finnis
  5. Wind Quintet No 1, 'Music for the fleeting birds' - Peteris Vasks
  6. A Fantasy about Purcell's 'Fantasia upon One Note' - Elliott Carter
  7. The Hidden Face, for countertenor, oboe and strings - Sir John Tavener

Celebrate 50 years of City of London Sinfonia, and many more years to come.

Our big birthday concert celebrates our musicians, legacy, present and future, with the revival of John Tavener’s The Hidden Face and the world premiere of a new piece by British-Bulgarian composer Dobrinka Tabakova, as well as modern chamber works performed around the Cathedral.

Tavener’s hypnotic and contemplative prayer, The Hidden Face, was commissioned by our founder, Richard Hickox, in 1996 – one of over 55 commissions in Hickox and the Orchestra’s legacy. In writing the piece, Tavener was inspired by the playing of oboist Nicholas Daniel and the voice of countertenor Michael Chance.

Our collaboration with Dobrinka Tabakova, known for her deeply moving and meditative compositions, began with our 2019 Cathedrals Tour of Centuries of Meditations. We're delighted to commission a new piece by Tabakova for our birthday celebration, as well as feature her Frozen River Flows for oboe and percussion.

‘This is CLS’ above all celebrates the outstanding musicianship of City of London Sinfonia musicians, with chamber music for brass, wind and strings completing our programme, including Carter’s dramatic A Fantasy about Purcell’s ‘Fantasia on one note’, Edmund Finnis’s ethereal The Centre is Everywhere, Peteris Vasks’s hopeful Music for the fleeting birds, and Vaughan Williams’s beloved Tallis Fantasia.

Southwark Cathedral
London Bridge
This advertisement was submitted by City of London Sinfonia.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.