We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Prokofiev and Strauss | London Symphony Orchestra

Thursday November 25, 2021 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£5 - £15 dicounted tickets)
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Macbeth Op 23 - Richard Strauss
  2. Suite No 2, from Romeo and Juliet Op 64 - Sergey Prokofiev

LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda conducts the Orchestra in two works inspired by the writings of Shakespeare.

‘How silver-sweet sound lovers' tongues by night, Like softest music to attending ears!’ Shakespeare’s star-cross’d lovers have inspired composers for centuries, but there’s still no interpretation of their tale that quite surpasses Prokofiev’s great Soviet ballet-score: Romeo and Juliet retold in music that’s as sharp as a rapier and as tender as a kiss.

It’s perfect for LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda, an artist whose instinct for drama is matched only by his deep personal affinity with Russian music. There's drama to start the evening too as he opens the concert with Strauss's tone poem Macbeth.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street
This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.