We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

A Fresh Take on Shostakovich | Sheku Kanneh-Mason and London Mozart Players

Sunday February 13, 2022 at 19:30
Fairfield Halls, Croydon
£15, £21.75, £28.50, £35, £41.75
Phone for tickets: 0300 500 0595
Phone lines open: Mon-Thu: 12pm-7pm; Fri: 10am-3pm; Sat: closed; Sun: 12pm-7pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from Ruslan and Ludmilla - Mikhail Glinka
  2. Concerto for cello and orchestra No 2 in G Op 126 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  3. Pictures at an Exhibition - Modest Mussorgsky, orchestrated by Maurice Ravel

The London Mozart Players return to Fairfield Halls in February 2022 with star soloist Sheku Kanneh-Mason presenting a ‘Fresh Take’ on Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No 2.

Enriching for classical music novices and aficionados alike, London Mozart Players' ‘Fresh Takes’ is a brand new concert series which includes an engaging introduction by the players, conductor and soloist at the start of the concert. With the composer’s backgrounds and influences shared, musical excerpts illustrated by the orchestra, and with manuscripts, portraits and more projected on an overhead screen, this unique presentation will enhance the appreciation and the emotional impact of the work’s performance.

In this first ‘Fresh Takes’ concert, superstar cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason performs one of the repertoire’s most challenging works, Shostakovich’s second cello concerto. Interweaving brooding melodies with animated themes, and featuring a virtuosic cadenza, it’s a dramatic work that makes demands on soloist, conductor and orchestra. Sheku will share his own insights into the challenges of this work on stage with conductor Jonathan Bloxham ahead of a full performance. This is a wonderful opportunity to hear a rarely performed work, played by one of the UK’s finest musicians.

Art becomes music, becomes art. Mussorgsky’s iconic suite of ten short movements Pictures at an Exhibition, inspired by a posthumous exhibition of paintings by his friend Viktor Hartmann, is an evergreen favourite. Acclaimed artist James Mayhew will be on hand to paint along to the music, with his artwork inspired by Mussorgsky’s dramatic melodies projected on the overhead screens in Fairfield’s iconic concert hall.

This all Russian programme will open with Glinka’s exuberant overture to his opera Ruslan and Lyudmila.

Fairfield Halls
Park Lane

This advertisement was submitted by London Mozart Players.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.