We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Summer Series II - The Eight Seasons | Soloists of Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday July 23, 2022 at 19:30
St Martin-in-the-Fields, London
£32 £26 £18 £10 (students £5)
Phone for tickets: 01865 980 980
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am-6pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Les cuatro estaciones portenas, 'The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires' - Astor Piazzolla
  2. Le quattro stagioni, 'The Four Seasons' Op 8 - Antonio Vivaldi

Not four seasons, but eight seasons. Vivaldi's set of four concertos depicting scorching sun, searing storms and spring dances sound as evocative today as they did in the early 18th century. Few composers have matched the Italian's combination of virtuosity with melodic outpouring and orchestral colour. One who did lived more than two centuries later in an entirely different corner of the planet. Piazzolla's Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, interspersed with Vivaldi's seasons in this concert, re-imagine the sound world of the Argentinian tango in music by turns debonair, sulty and evocative.

St Martin-in-the-Fields
Trafalgar Square

This advertisement was submitted by Megan Cunnington.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.