We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Haydn, Mozart, Gershwin and John Adams | London Symphony Orchestra

Sunday June 12, 2022 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£60 £48 £35 £24 £18
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Symphony No 86 in D - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 18 in B flat K456 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Cuban Overture - George Gershwin
  4. I still dance - John Adams
  5. An American in Paris - George Gershwin

High spirits and summer sun, as Sir Simon Rattle kicks up his heels in music by Haydn, Mozart, and Gershwin – and introduces the latest show stopper from John Adams.

‘The world is always better with Haydn,’ says Sir Simon Rattle, and tonight the exuberance and wit of Haydn’s 86th Symphony is merely the curtain-raiser for an all-laughing, all-dancing concert of Mozart, Gershwin and John Adams: music that spans three centuries without losing its smile.

After all, you’re never far from a party with George Gershwin, and tonight he takes to the dance floor, first in Havana and then in Paris. But good times are meant to be shared, so we’re delighted to welcome the great Imogen Cooper, in a concerto that shows Mozart at his most brilliant, as well as his most poignant. And there’s a swinging, sizzling new postcard from America from another old friend of the LSO, John Adams.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.