We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Artist Portrait: Håkan Hardenberger | London Symphony Orchestra

Thursday June 16, 2022 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£60 £48 £35 £24 £18
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Atmosphères - György Ligeti
  2. Prelude to Act I, from Lohengrin - Richard Wagner
  3. Histoires vraies, for piano, trumpet and orchestra - Betsy Jolas
  4. Symphony No 2 in D Op 73 - Johannes Brahms

Brahms’s most lyrical symphony meets three composers who continue to redefine the power of sound, in this Artist Portrait concert featuring Håkan Hardenberger.

Not every revolution is noisy. Wagner’s Lohengrin prelude and Ligeti’s mind-expanding skyscape both break music down to its elements to create sonorities that defy the imagination; Betsy Jolas, meanwhile, says that she creates music from ‘the sounds we try not to hear’. Together, they make a compelling upbeat to Brahms’s sunniest symphony.

Brahms wrote his Second Symphony while on holiday in the Austrian Alps, but as Rattle has said, it’s ‘far from conventional’, and Brahms’s way of shaping and colouring a melody is as individual (and as expressive) as anything that followed him. And with soloists of the calibre of Roger Muraro and Håkan Hardenberger, in an Artist Portrait concert celebrating the trumpeter’s 60th birthday, Betsy Jolas’s True Stories will be like giving your ears a reboot. Once you’ve heard it, everything sounds different.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.