We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Australian Chamber Orchestra: Beethoven and Bridgetower

Thursday October 27, 2022 at 19:30
Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London
£15, £20, £30, £40
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Shanty – Over the Sea, for strings - Thomas Adès
  2. Andante for Strings - Ruth Crawford Seeger
  3. String Quartet No 1 - Leoš Janácek, arranged for string orchestra by Richard Tognetti
  4. Lyric for Strings - George Walker
  5. Sonata for violin and piano No 9, 'Kreutzer' Op 47 - Ludwig van Beethoven, arranged for string orchestra by Richard Tognetti

Revolutionary music at its most super-charged: the exhilarating Australian Chamber Orchestra celebrate the radical music of Beethoven, and the inspiration he’s sparked ever since. Beethoven meets violinist George Bridgetower, ripping the classical sonata wide open in the iconic 9th Sonata, dedicated to Rodolphe Kreutzer. Then, inspired by Tolstoy’s novella of obsessive jealousy (inspired by Beethoven), Janácek pushes the string quartet to its limits in his own fraught Kreutzer. The Australian Chamber Orchestra and their maverick music director Richard Tognetti expand both masterpieces for full orchestra before putting them under the microscope.

But first, regular Australian Chamber Orchestra collaborator William Barton combines his spellbinding blend of vocals and virtuosic didgeridoo playing. The orchestra meet a kindred spirit in the form of Thomas Adès, whose evocative Shanty embraces the progressive spirit of the composers who inspire him. And in the midst are two more pioneers of their times: Ruth Crawford Seeger and George Walker.

Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.