We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra/Daniel Harding and Leonidas Kavakos

Friday November 4, 2022 at 19:30
Barbican Hall, London
£15, £25, £35, £55, £75
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major Op 77 - Johannes Brahms
  2. Symphony No 6 in F, 'Pastoral' - Ludwig van Beethoven

Expect fireworks from the indisputable virtuosity of violinist Leonidas Kavakos, as he joins the stellar Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra for the first night of their two-concert visit. Shimmering lyrical lines, infectious dance-infused rhythms, and an ensuing symphonic battle between soloist and orchestra. Brahms wrote his only Violin Concerto ‘against the violin’, commented conductor Hans von Bulow at the time. But with the astounding Leonidas Kavakos at the helm tonight, we’re not sure you’ll agree.

And there’s no better orchestral match for Kavakos than one of the world’s finest, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, with Daniel Harding on the podium. Together they take a stroll through Beethoven’s wonderfully optimistic world of bubbling brooks, evocative bird calls and the sound of bucolic folk who’ve perhaps had one too many. If not bowled over in awe, you’ll undoubtedly leave with a skip in your step too.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.