We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Carducci Quartet: Felix and Fanny

Thursday November 24, 2022 at 19:30
Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London
£15, £20, £30, £40
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. String Quartet in E flat (1834) - Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel
  2. Das Jahr, for piano - Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel, arranged for string quartet by Emma Denton
    • July
    • October
    • Postlude
  3. Movements from String Quartets Nos 1, 2 and 6 - Felix Mendelssohn
  4. Incidental music to A Midsummer Night's Dream - Felix Mendelssohn, arranged for string quartet by Emma Denton
    • Overture
    • Wedding March
  5. On Wings of Song - Felix Mendelssohn, arranged by Emma Denton

The Carducci Quartet explore the intense connection between the Mendelssohn siblings through their music, intertwined with spoken word adapted from Myla Lichtman-Fields’s play, Felix and Fanny. Struggling with conflicting impulses of authorship versus social expectations, Fanny Mendelssohn spent most of her lifetime restricted to private performances and watching her brother take credit for music she’d written. Tonight, the quartet place Fanny’s music firmly centre stage, as letters between the siblings interweave the movements of her expressive String Quartet and a selection from her ground-breaking Das Jahr.

Alongside music by Felix, Fanny’s musical diary reveals a raw emotional intensity. There’s no better ensemble to uncover Fanny’s quest for recognition than the Carducci Quartet. Last time they played at Milton Court, exploring Shostakovich’s world, they played ‘with total commitment, forcing you to think afresh about the music and its context’ (Guardian).

Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.