We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Rachel Podger

Thursday December 15, 2022 at 19:30
Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London
£15, £20, £30, £40
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Toccata and Fugue in D minor - Johann Sebastian Bach, arranged for violin by Chad Kelly
  2. Fantasia for solo violin in C minor, 'Con discretione' - Nicola Matteis Jr
  3. Partita No 6, from Artificiosus concentus pro camera, for solo violin - Johann Joseph Vilsmayr
  4. Suite pour le violon seul sans basse - Johann Paul von Westhoff
  5. Sonata for violin and continuo No 17 in D B D2
  6. Phantasia, for solo violin - Chad Kelly
  7. Suite No 6 for solo cello in D BWV 1012 - Johann Sebastian Bach

Violinist Rachel Podger brings her spellbinding artistry to a solo recital, championing lesser-known Baroque works in a programme bookended by transcriptions of J S Bach’s most popular music. The dramatic opening notes of Bach’s Toccata and Fugue are some of the most recognisable in organ music. Here Rachel Podger kicks off her recital with a transcription for solo violin, starting a journey around Baroque Europe featuring the exuberant sounds of Nicola Matteis Jr, Johann Joseph Vilsmayr, Johann Paul von Westhoff and Guiseppe Tartini. The inspiration of Bach comes full circle in Chad Kelly’s new work Phantasia: ‘The spectre of Bach as organist looms large’, before Bach’s evocative Suite No 6.

The first woman to be awarded the prestigious Royal Academy of Music/Kohn Foundation Bach Prize in October 2015, plus Gramophone Artist of the Year in 2018, Podger brings distinctive verve to her performances along with superlative interpretative insights. ‘There is probably no more inspirational musician working today’ writes Gramophone.

Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Silk Street

Rachel Podger

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.