We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Hallé with Jakob Koranyi (cello) and Tabita Berglund

Saturday April 1, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£11.50 - £38.50
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 10am to 8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in B minor Op 104 - Antonín Dvorák
  2. Fantasy Homage to Schubert - Dobrinka Tabakova
  3. Symphony No 5 in E flat Op 82 - Jean Sibelius

Norwegian conductor Tabita Berglund is one of an exciting new generation of conductors emerging from Scandinavia and the Baltic, and has been widely praised for her positivity and ‘boundless energy’ (The Guardian). She finds a natural partner in the brilliant young Swedish cellist Jakob Koranyi, described by The Strad as ‘a force to be reckoned with’. For this visit he’ll be playing Dvorák’s passionate Cello Concerto, whose emotive themes are played out in an expansive, symphonic soundscape.

The Hallé’s new Composer in Residence, Dobrinka Tabakova, is known for her richly atmospheric yet immediately accessible music. Inspired by the opening melody of Schubert’s C major Fantasy for violin and piano, her Fantasy homage is a shimmering, cosmological tone poem for strings, built on multi-layered textures with solo viola. Sibelius’s Fifth Symphony is more rooted in the rugged landscape of Finland, with its clean lines and etched rhythms. Nevertheless, he succeeds in creating real sweep and grandeur, building from hushed daybreak to a visionary hymn-like finale, inspired by witnessing a flight of swans ascending into a radiant solar haze.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium: Dobrinka Tabakova in conversation

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square
The Hallé

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.