We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

BBC Philharmonic - Discovering Florence Price

Wednesday May 24, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 10am to 8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for piano and orchestra in one movement - Florence Beatrice Smith Price
  2. Symphony No 1 in E minor - Florence Price

A true musical pioneer, Arkansas-born Florence Price encountered numerous challenges throughout her career, including segregation and the threat of racial violence. She displayed extraordinary determination in getting her work published and performed, aided by just a handful of supporters and sympathetic American conductors, but her work fell into obscurity following her death in 1953. It’s only relatively recently been rediscovered and its importance acknowledged. This concert offers a timely opportunity to experience two of Price’s vibrant and imaginative works: her Piano Concerto in One Movement, premiered in Chicago in 1934, and her First Symphony*, first performed in 1933. Both display the melodic strength of Price’s best work, with the symphony characterised by colourful orchestration, with hints of fiddles and banjos adding some distinctive textures.

Broadcaster Stephen Johnson explores the world of Florence Price with live musical illustrations from the BBC Philharmonic before a complete performance of both works. The Nottingham-based pianist Jeneba Kanneh-Mason is the soloist in the Concerto in One Movement, whose televised première she gave at the BBC Proms in 2021.

* This replaces the Third Symphony, which was advertised originally.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.