We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Saturday May 20, 2023 at 19:45
The Anvil, Basingstoke
£42, £38, £31, £24, £16; under 25s, full time students £12 (includes £4 booking fee); Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day; group bookings: buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free; buy 20 or more tickets and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free
Phone for tickets: 01256 844244
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 2pm
Other Sources: Box Office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 3 in F Wq 183 - Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
  2. Symphony No 34 in C K338 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Sinfonia concertante in A, for violin and cello W C34 - Johann Christian Bach
  4. Symphony No 5 in B Wq182 - Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
  5. Excerpts, from Don Giovanni K 527 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  6. Ballet scenes (Dance of The blessed Spirits and Dance of the Furies), from Orfeo ed Euridice - Christoph Willibald Gluck

The composers featured in this programme left home to find their own voices. Bach’s most famous sons were key players in the transition from the baroque style of their father to the new classical style that found its brightest invention in Mozart and Haydn.

JC Bach ran fashionable subscription concerts in London from the mid 1760s, which often featured his charming sinfonia concertantes. CPE Bach, although he held conventional court positions in Berlin and Hamburg, was a restless innovator in the emerging symphony form and solo concertos.

When Mozart escaped to Vienna from Salzburg, he took his large scale Symphony No 34 with him, where it was one of his first big public hits, establishing him as a composer to be reckoned with.

The Anvil
Churchill Way
RG21 7QR

This advertisement was submitted by Anvil Arts.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.