We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Martha Argerich and Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday March 31, 2023 at 19:30
Oxford Town Hall, Oxford
£60 £42 £32 £20 (students from £5)
Phone for tickets: 01865 980980
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. The Hebrides Overture Op 26 - Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in C Op 15 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Symphony No 41 in C, 'Jupiter' K 551 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Mozart may not have known the ‘Jupiter’ symphony would become his last, but it’s hard to imagine how he could have followed it. Mozart’s last symphony is a work of majestic intensity and liberation but also a continuous stream of musical joy that wears its brilliance lightly. Before it, titan of the piano Martha Argerich joins Marios Papadopoulos and the Orchestra for a score Beethoven wrote to showcase his own virtuosity. The C major Piano Concerto portrays the influence of Mozart, but shoes signs of Beethoven’s unmistakable heroic brilliance too.

Oxford Town Hall
St Aldate's

This advertisement was submitted by Megan Cunnington.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.