We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

American Journey | Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday April 22, 2023 at 19:30
Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford
£48 £38 £28 £15 (students from £5)
Phone for tickets: 01865 980980
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Wood Notes - William Grant Still
  2. Concerto for piano and orchestra in one movement - Florence Beatrice Smith Price
  3. Adagio for Strings Op 11 - Samuel Barber
  4. Appalachian Spring - Aaron Copland

Between them, Aaron Copland and Samuel Barber defined the orchestral sound of America in the first half of the 20th century. From Copland’s simple sounds of the open prairie to the emotional depths of Samuel Barber’s heart-rending harmonies, this is music that could have come from no other time or place. But plenty of gems of American music remain undiscovered. Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey also brings us Florence Price’s astonishing Piano Concerto of 1934, played by Samantha Ege, and William Grant Still’s idyllic pastoral, Wood Notes.

Young Artists’ Platform - pre-concert recital 18:30

Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street

This advertisement was submitted by Megan Cunnington.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.