We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

1773 – A Retrospective | The Mozartists (chamber ensemble)

Tuesday January 17, 2023 at 19:30
Wigmore Hall, London
£16-£50; under 35s from £5
Phone for tickets: 020 7935 2141
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 27 in G K 199 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Zwischen Angst und zwischen Hoffen, from Alceste - Anton Schweitzer
  3. Sinfonia No 5 in B minor H 661; Wq 182 No 5 - Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
  4. Potea quel pianto, from La Passione di Gesu Cristo - Josef Myslivecek
  5. È la pompa un grand’ imbroglio, from L'Infedelta delusa HobXXVIII/5 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  6. Symphony No 51 in B flat - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  7. Exsultate, jubilate, for soprano and orchestra K 165 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

This entertaining and illuminating selection of works composed in 1773 begins with one of Mozart’s most genial middle-period symphonies and ends with his first enduringly popular masterpiece. In between, Haydn’s famed horn writing takes the instrument to the almost ridiculous extremes of its compass, while soprano Alexandra Lowe, making her eagerly anticipated company début, sings arias that are by turns dramatic, lyrical and virtuosic.

There will be a free pre-performance talk by Ian Page at 6.15pm.

Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore Street

This advertisement was submitted by Classical Opera.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.